Skip to content

Cancer Matters


Cancer Matters Home Issues & Perspectives Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor Therapy Guideline Continues to Draw Readers

Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor Therapy Guideline Continues to Draw Readers

A guideline on guide the clinical practice of managing adverse events in patients treated with immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICPi) therapy continues to draw readers nearly a year after its publication.

The document’s development, led by Julie Brahmer, M.D., co-director of the upper aerodigestive department in the Bloomberg~Kimmel Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy and a professor of oncology at the Johns Hopkins Kimmel Cancer Center, wanted to increase awareness, outline strategies, and offer guidance on managing patent treatment with ICPi.

The results were published in the Journal of Clinical Oncology on June 10, 2018, but has remained the most read article in the past year on the journal’s website (as of February 2019). The importance of the guidelines is highlighted by how long it has remained on the site’s Most Read section.

The guideline for the American Society of Clinical Oncology was based on a review of 204 publications from 2000 to 2017, and recommendations were based on expert consensus.

The panel of experts included medical oncology, dermatology, gastroenterology, rheumatology, pulmonology, endocrinology, urology, neurology, hematology, emergency medicine, nursing, trialist, and advocacy. Much of the evidence consisted of systematic reviews of observational data, consensus guidelines, case series, and case reports.

Read the abstract here.

Other contributors to the guideline included Christina Lacchetti, Bryan J. Schneider, Michael B. Atkins, Kelly J. Brassil, Jeffrey M. Caterino, Ian Chau, Marc S. Ernstoff, Jennifer M. Gardner, Pamela Ginex, Sigrun Hallmeyer, Jennifer Holter Chakrabarty, Natasha B. Leighl, Jennifer S Mammen, David F. McDermott, Aung Naing, Loretta J. Nastoupil, Tanyanika Phillips, Laura D. Porter, Igor Puzanov, Cristina A. Reichner, Bianca D. Santomasso, Carole Seigel, Alexander Spira, Maria E. Suarez-Almazor, Yinghong Wang, Jeffrey S. Weber, Jedd D. Wolchok, and John A. Thompson.